Mandatory Weed Inspectors

Res #: 4-13M
Number: 4
Year: 2013
Midterm: Yes
Expired: Yes
Responses Received: No
Departments: Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture

WHEREAS The Weed Control Act is a Provincial Act respecting prohibited, noxious and nuisance weeds within the Province of Saskatchewan; and

WHEREAS Section 6.2 of The Weed Control Act suggests that a municipality may, and not shall, appoint a weed inspector to enforce the Act; and

WHEREAS the Minister may only appoint a weed inspector in an emergency; and

WHEREAS many municipalities do not appoint a weed inspector pursuant to this Act; and

WHEREAS there is no invisible boundary isolating weeds within a given municipal jurisdiction; and

WHEREAS it is a costly venture to constantly attempt to control noxious weeds growing within a municipality; and

WHEREAS such efforts are futile when enforcement of the Act is not mandatory and it is not enforced province wide;

BE IT RESOLVED that Section 6.2 of The Weed  Control Act be amended to make it a requirement of all municipalities to appoint a weed inspector; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Provincial Government take a more proactive approach to enforcing the control of noxious weeds and this Act within the Province of Saskatchewan, including but not limited to scentless chamomile, common tansy and burdock.

Response from Lyle Stewart, Minister of Agriculture

In 2015, The Weed Control Act will enter its fifth year.  It is standard practice for legislation to be reviewed at five year intervals to ensure they continue to function in the best interest of the Saskatchewan residents.  During the next review, officials from the Ministry of Agriculture will consult with SARM on the best approach to address the concerns raised in the resolution.  In the meantime, it is recommended that Rural Municipalities without weed inspectors consider becoming a member of a Weed Management Area with neighbouring Rural Municipalities to overcome the factors preventing them from appointing a weed inspector.


View updated response dated June 16, 2017 from the Ministry of Agriculture