Home » Advocacy » Committees

Agriculture and Economy Committee

The Agriculture and Economy Committee was created to focus exclusively on agriculture and economic issues of importance to rural Saskatchewan. Agriculture has always been a top priority for SARM and unforeseen economic pressures are increasing in their frequency and severity, directly impacting the livelihoods of those in rural Saskatchewan.  HOW WILL THIS IMPACT RURAL SASKATCHEWAN?

Agriculture policy files:

  • SK Crop Insurance
  • Canada Grains Council
  • Canada Grains Commission
  • Clubroot
  • CAP II/Ag Policy Frameworks
  • Country of Origin Labelling
  • Crop Logistics Working Group
  • Ag Health and Safety Network
  • Bison Fencing
  • Malignant Catarrhal Fever
  • Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA)
  • Weed Management
  • Rail Service/Grain Transportation
  • The Provincial Lands Act
  • Forage Insurance Review
  • Temporary Foreign Workers
  • Carbon Pricing
  • Carbon Sequestration
  • Wildlife Habitat Protection Lands
  • Wild Boars
  • Hunting and Wildlife
  • Chronic Wasting Disease

Economy policy files:

  • Carbon Tax/Offsets
  • Inflation
  • Sanctions/Trade
  • Surface Rights
  • Overweight Permitting Process
  • Automated Routing System
  • Pipelines
  • Alternative Energy (i.e. wind)
  • Tendering and Procurement
  • New West Trade Partnership Agreement
  • Well Drilling Licenses and Fees
  • Scope of Review/Review of Industry Financial Contributions
  • Canadian European Trade Agreement
  • Transpacific Partnership

Water and Drainage:

  • WSA
  • Water Management Planning and Drainage Strategies (C&Ds, Watersheds)
  • Waste Water Disposal and Treatment
  • Point of Entry/Point of Use Water
  • Raw Water Pipeline Hookups
  • Quill Lakes
  • Assiniboine River Basin Initiative
  • Department of Fisheries and Oceans
  • Navigable Waters

Municipal Oversite Committee

The Municipal Oversite Committee was created to review issues that Rural Municipalities have jurisdiction over or that directly impact councils to ensure they are reviewed with a rural municipal lens. HOW WILL THIS IMPACT RM COUNCILS?

Municipal Related Environment policy files:

  • Scrap Tires
  • Ag Plastics Recycling
  • Species at Risk (SARA)
  • South of Divide Project (SODCAP)
  • Environmental Code
  • Solid Waste Management
  • Landfills
  • Illegal Dumping
  • Environmental Assessments
  • Multi-Material Recycling
  • Multi-Material Recycling Advisory Committee
  • Weather Change


  • Rail Safety and Grade Crossings
  • TMS Pilots
  • Highway Compensation/Diversions
  • Traffic Safety
  • Highway Transfer of Responsibility
  • Building Inspections
  • Environmental Assessments (pipelines)
  • Long-term Infrastructure Committee
  • Asset Management (Gas Tax, SARM, FCM)
  • Road Maintenance Agreements
  • Public-Private Infrastructure Program (PIPP)
  • Got Gravel
  • Saskatchewan Common Ground Alliance/Call Before You Dig/Sask 1st Call
  • Ministry of Highways Issues

SaskPower & SaskEnergy:

  • Line Relocates
  • Crown Utility Crossings
  • SaskPower Bill Payments
  • SaskEnergy Regulations 


  • Broadband and Cell Service

Municipal Governance:

  • Municipalities Act & Regulations
  • Consultation Protocol Agreement
  • Conflict of Interest
  • Property Taxation
  • Education Taxation
  • Annexation
  • Amalgamation/Transformational Change
  • Revenue Sharing
  • Gas Tax
  • Building Canada Fund
  • Communities in Transition/Strategic Initiatives
  • Municipal Financing Tools and Infrastructure Bank
  • SaskPower Grants in Lieu 
  • SK Municipal Board (SMB)
  • Subdivision Regulations
  • Sub-Classing
  • The Planning and Development Act
  • Statements of Provincial Interest
  • Municipal Bylaws

Community and Enforcement Services:

  • Physician Recruitment
  • Bylaw Enforcement
  • Rural Policing (RCMP Issues i.e. unionization, services)
  • Special Constables/CSOP
  • SK Asst. of Municipal Enforcement Officers Training and Standards Committee (SAMEO)
  • Fine Revenue
  • Civic Addressing
  • Marijuana Legislation 
  • PDAP
  • Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements
  • National Disaster Mitigation Program
  • Emergency Flood Damage Reduction Program
  • Mutual Aid Agreements
  • Trespassing
  • Gun Registry
  • Fire Safety

Labour Relations and Workplace Safety:

  • OH&S i.e. Snow Removal Checklist
  • WCB
  • Labour Legislation