Finalists Announced for 2009 Saskatchewan Municipal Awards

The finalists have been announced for the third annual Saskatchewan Municipal Awards Program. 

A total of 28 nominations were received for the 2009 awards and were judged by an independent selection committee consisting of; Bob Linner, former City Manager City of Regina; Murray Mandryk, political columnist, Regina Leader Post; Crystal McLeod, associate with MacPherson Leslie and Tyerman LLP and Enterprise Saskatchewan board member; Holly Hetherington, Senior Partner, Executive Source; Jim Angus, Administrator, RM of Harris. 

“The Saskatchewan Municipal Awards represent and recognize the leadership commitment of local governments to innovation, community and regional partnerships in addition to continuous improvement to provide quality service in and for their communities as they grow and prosper with the province,” Linner said.  

The 2009 Finalists are: 

Municipal Service Excellence
•  City of Saskatoon – Affordable Housing Business  Plan 

Economic Development Leadership
•  Town of Nipawin, Town of Choiceland, Village of White Fox, RM of Torch River – Torch River Rail Project;

•  Town of Ogema – Ogema Economic Development Leadership Project. 

Regional Leadership and Partnerships 
•  Town of Kindersley, RM of Kindersley, RM of Oakdale, RM of Prairiedale, RM of Antelope Park, RM of Milton – Regional Partnership to Operate and Improve Kindersley Airport;

•  RM of Buckland, Little Red River Band, Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation – Recreation Centre Regional Partnership Practice

Community Development Leadership 
•  Town of Ogema – Ogema Community Development Leadership Project;

•  Village of Montmartre, RM of Montmartre – Centre 48 Arts and Education Centre

Environmental Stewardship 
•  Town of Mossbank, RM of Lake Johnston – Old Wives Lake nature Area;

•  City of Regina – McKell Wascana Conservation Area

The Awards luncheon will be held May 22 at the Ramada Hotel in Regina.