2009 SARM Annual Convention Highlights

Close to 1900 guests and delegates representing 288 rural municipalities attended SARM’s 104th Annual Convention at TCU Place in Saskatoon.   

His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan, Dr. Gordon Barnhart, opened the convention with a kind welcome to guests and convention delegates.   

On behalf of the sponsor SaskPower, Honourable Ken Cheveldayoff, Minister of Crown Corporations, gave a warm introduction to the recipient of this year’s Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Outstanding Service to Rural Saskatchewan – Sinclair Harrison, retired Reeve of the RM of Moosomin No. 121 and no stranger to SARM and its delegates. Congratulations Sinc!

Resolutions passed at the convention can be found on our website under “policy”.  As responses to the resolutions are received from the Province and Federal Government, they are posted on our website. 

The Premier’s address and the Bear Pit Session was as always a well-attended part of the convention.  The workshops on Thursday afternoon were well attended and proved to be very informative.  

All members of the SARM Board who were up for election this year were returned by acclamation. 

Senator Pamela Wallin delivered an inspirational and motivating address to close our convention – a special treat for all who attended!