SARM Elects New President, Vice-President

Today David Marit was elected President of SARM and Jim Hallick won the Vice-Presidency by acclamation at SARM’s 101st Annual Convention in Regina.

President Marit is a Councillor for the RM of Willow Bunch No. 42. He served as Vice-President of SARM since 2004 and prior to that sat as Director for Division 2 for 5 years. Jim Hallick has served on the SARM Board since 1994 as Director of Division 4 and is Deputy Reeve for the RM of Keys No. 303.

“I am looking forward to working on the many issues facing rural Saskatchewan,” said the newly elected President Dave Marit. “Education tax relief on all property and the agricultural crisis will continue to be high priority for SARM, as well as revenue sharing, rural infrastructure funding and the upcoming Clearing the Path workshops.”

President Marit, Vice-President Hallick and convention delegates thanked out-going President Hardy for his dedication to rural Saskatchewan and his time with the SARM Board.

The Board of Directors for 2006-07 is:

President Dave Marit

Vice-President Jim Hallick

Director Division 1 Don Taylor (re-elected)

Director Division 2 Ray Orb

Director Division 3 Doug Steele (elected by acclamation)

Director Division 4 Harvey Malanowich (newly elected director)

Director Division 5 Murray Purcell (elected by acclamation)

Director Division 6 Debra Gronning

Over 1800 people were in attendance at the convention which wrapped up today.

For more information contact:

David Marit Arita McPherson

SARM President SARM Director of Agriculture

Cell Phone: (306) 476-7754 Policy & Communications