# Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities



# **Darren Steinley**

306.774.2076 vicepresident@sarm.ca

Darren was born, raised, and resides on a farm in the RM of Excelsior No. 166 where he has been the division two councillor since 2009. He graduated from the University of Saskatchewan with a Diploma in Agriculture in 1993. Darren returned to the family farm in 1999 and, along with his wife Michelle and brother Kevin, purchased the farm in 2008. The farm is primarily a beef and hay farm that focuses on crop production for forage rejuvenation. Previous to and while running the farm, Darren has worked in agricultural research for AAFC and the Wheatland Conservation Area. He also facilitated environmental farm plan meetings which were administered through PCAB. He most recently was territory manager for two different agriculture input companies.

Darren and his wife Michelle have two awesome boys. Andrew, the oldest, has completed his Agriculture Degree at the University of Saskatchewan and will be employed by Emco Pipe Group. Noah has completed his Actuary Science Degree from the University of Regina and will work with FCC.

Darren has served on various local and provincial boards and is President of the Rush Lake Irrigation District. He is an avid traveller and enjoys most if not all sports. He is a slightly below-average bowler and is most passionate about golf with one recorded hole-in-one to his name.

### Darren represents SARM on the following committees:

### **AGRICULTURE & ENVIRONMENT**

- Advisory Committee on Wildlife
- Prairie Conservation Action Plan (PCAP)
- SODCAP

# **INFRASTRUCTURE & DEVELOPMENT**

- RIRG (PMB)
- Rural Road Classification Committee

### **MUNICIPAL GOVERNANCE**

- Board of Examiners
- Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM)
- Gas Tax Partnership Program/Gas Tax Oversight Committee Program
- Municipal Forum
- Western Canada Municipal Association (WCMA)

### **HEALTH & SOCIAL**

Physicians Recruitment & Retention Advisory
Panel

# OTHER

- Indigenous Relations Committee
- Municipal Governance Review Committee
- Potash Tax Sharing Administration Board
- Resolution Committee

# SARM STANDING ADVISORY COMMITTEES

• SARM Municipal Oversight Committee (Chair)

SARM The Voice of Rural Saskatchewan | SARM.ca