Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities



Ray Orb
306.723.4344
president@sarm.ca

Ray was born in Regina and was raised on a farm in the Markinch district. He completed his secondary education at Robert Southey school and upon graduation was employed at the Consumers' Cooperative Refinery in Regina from 1969 to 1977, during which time he farmed part-time. In 1978 his family moved to Cupar where he began full-time farming and operated a mixed farm with his wife Val for many years.

In 1985 Ray decided to enter the world of municipal politics. He was elected as a councillor in the Rural Municipality of Cupar and then reeve in 1995, a position he currently holds.

He was both a Director and President of the Regina District Association of Rural Municipalities for several years. He was elected as SARM Division 2 Director in 2004 and as Vice President in 2010. In 2015, Ray was elected as President of SARM.

Ray has completed training through the Municipal Leadership Development Program and the Pacific Institute. He received governance training through the Rotman's School of Management at the University of Toronto and Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy at the University of Regina.

Ray and his wife Val have raised three children, Chelsey, Jocelyn, and Jerod and are proud grandparents of five grandchildren.

Ray represents SARM on the following committees:

AGRICULTURE & ENVIRONMENT

 Chronic Wasting Disease Working Committee (Sask. Env)

MUNICIPAL GOVERNANCE

- Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM)
- Municipal Forum
- Municipal Sector Strategic Plan
- Rural Municipal Administrators' Association (RMAA) Board
- Policing and Justice Administration Committee
- Western Canada Municipal Association (WCMA)

OTHER

- Audit Committee
- Governance Review Committee
- Potash Tax Sharing Administration Board
- Indigenous Relations Committee
- SaskPower (SMR Elbow) Committee

SARM STANDING ADVISORY COMMITTEES

• SARM Agriculture & Economy Committee (Chair)

Ray also sits on three Federation of Canadian Municipalities committees.

