Rat Control Program (CAP-RCP)

In 2019-20, SARM will administer the rat control program (CAP-RCP) to provide financial assistance to rural municipalities (RMs), First Nations Bands (FNBs) south of the Northern Administrative District. The cost-share rebate program is designed to achieve maximum results and accountability, while keeping administrative requirements for RMs and FNBs to a minimum. The CAP-RCP will provide cost-share rebates in the amount of $1.25 million for this program year (April 1, 2019 to March 31, 2020).

The program will provide up to a 50:50 cost-share payment to RMs and FNBs that are active in their rat control efforts and who follow the minimum level of service determined by the 2019-20 CAP-RCP. 

December 31, 2019 is the deadline to claim under the 2019-20 CAP-RCP. The program will provide rebates to eligible RMs and FNBs to cover up to 50 per cent of reported rat control expenses to a maximum potential grant amount pro-rated by a factor of total value of all valid claims by totals funds available.

CAP-RCP Tools:

Resources Available:

Rat Control Technical Advisors - This year, SARM will contract the services of two Rat Control Technical Advisors, one focused in the northern three SARM Divisions (4, 5 and 6) and another in the southern three Divisions (1, 2 and 3). These roles will continue to support the Rat Control Program by providing ongoing mentoring and technical guidance to new and existing appointed PCOs and licensed pesticide applicators in the field on a case by case basis.In addition to providing ongoing technical guidance to new and existing PCOs and pesticide applicators in the field, the Rat Control Technical Advisors will play an important role alongside the Plant Health Officers to develop and deliver training and educational opportunities for PCOs each year.

For rat control technical assistance, please contact the Rat Control Technical Advisor for your SARM Division:

Southern SARM Divisions 1, 2 & 3:  Grant Peeling (306) 631-7141 gpeeling@sasktel.net
Northern SARM Divisions 4, 5 & 6:  Colette Melnychuk (306) 269-7067 melnychuk@sasktel.net

Form Resources for download:

PCO Resources for order through SARM Trading Services (free of charge)

Magnetic Pest Control Officer signs may be ordered directly through ATS Traffic at reginasales@atstraffic.ca

If you require assistance or more information regarding the CAP-RCP, please contact the Plant Health Officer located in your SARM Division:

Division 1: Katey Makohoniuk, (306) 594-7683, katey.makohoniuk@gmail.com
Division 2: Joanne Kwasnicki, (306) 541-8437, joanne.kwasnicki@gmail.com
Division 3: Betty Johnson, (306) 315-3925, bettyjohnson0025@gmail.com
Division 4: Lynne Roszell, (306) 852-8328, lynneroszell@gmail.com
Division 5: Chelsea Baraniecki, (306) 380-4526, chelsea.baraniecki@gmail.com
Division 6: Colleen Fennig, (306) 946-9895, colleen.fennig@gmail.com

PBP Contact Sheet and SARM Division Map

For more information, please contact SARM, toll free, at 1-800-667-3604 or Annette Ellert, Programs Manager, at (306) 761-3744 or aellert@sarm.ca.

Back to Pest Biosecurity Programs

SARM Twitter
Upcoming Events
«July 2019»
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
 
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
 
 
Jul. 16, 2019 to Jul. 18, 2019